E Augmented Chord on the Guitar (E+) – Diagrams, Finger Positions, Theory

The E augmented chord (E+) is an E Major chord, with a raised 5th. It contains the notes E, G# and B# (B sharp).

The note B# is technically the same note as C. The reason why it’s referred to as B# in the context of an E augmented chord, is that E sharp implies that the fifth note of the Major scale has been raised by a semitone, which is what gives the chord its augmented quality.

Each note of the E augmented chord is separated by an interval of a Major 3rd. Because every interval inside the E augmented chord is identical, it is known as a symmetrical chord. Another way of looking at this is as follows – If you play an augmented chord starting from any of the notes inside the E+ chord, the new chord will contain the same notes as the E augmented chord:

  • The E augmented chord contains the notes E, G#, B#
  • The G# augmented chord contains the notes G#, B#, Dx (that’s D double sharp, which is the same as E)
  • The B# augmented chord is essentially a C augmented chord. It therefore contains the notes C (B#), E, G#

Some Quick E+ Chord Theory

  • The E augmented chord contains the notes E, G# and B#.
  • The E+ chord is produced by playing the 1st (root), 3rd and sharp 5th note of the E Major scale.
  • The E augmented chord (just like all augmented chords) contains the following intervals (from the root note): Major 3rd, Major 3rd, Major 3rd (back to the root note).
  • E augmented is an E chord, with the B raised to B#.
  • The E augmented chord resolves naturally to the A minor or A Major chord.

10 Ways To Play The E Augmented Chord

E Augmented Chord 10 Ways

If you’ve come to this page just to view some chord diagrams for E+, here they are.

Further Reading

Get Guitar Chords Galore eBook