D Sharp Augmented Chord on the Guitar (D#+) – Diagrams, Finger Positions, Theory

The D sharp augmented chord (D#+) is a D sharp Major chord, with a raised 5th. It contains the notes D#, Fx (F double sharp) and Ax (A double sharp).

‘F double sharp’ (Fx) is effectively the same as G. A double sharp (Ax) is effectively the same note as B. The notes in the D Major scale are as follows:

D# – E# – Fx – G# – A# – B# – Cx

Therefore, D sharp augmented technically contains the notes D# (root), Fx (3rd) and Ax (#5). However, it is sometimes easier to refer to the notes by their more simple equivalents – D#, G and B.

D#+ is also enharmonically the same as Eb+.

Each note of the D sharp augmented chord is separated by an interval of a Major 3rd. Because every interval inside the D sharp augmented chord is identical, it is known as a symmetrical chord. Another way of looking at this is as follows – If you play an augmented chord starting from any of the notes inside the D#+ chord, the new chord will contain the same notes as the D sharp augmented chord:

  • The D sharp augmented chord contains the notes D#, Fx, Ax
  • The G augmented chord (same as Fx) contains the notes G (same as Fx), B (same as Ax), D#
  • The B augmented chord (same as Ax) contains the notes B (same as Ax), D#, G (same as Ax)

Some Quick D#+ Chord Theory

  • The D sharp augmented chord contains the notes D#, Gx and Ax.
  • The D#+ chord is produced by playing the 1st (root), 3rd and sharp 5th note of the D# Major scale.
  • The D sharp augmented chord (just like all augmented chords) contains the following intervals (from the root note): Major 3rd, Major 3rd, Major 3rd (back to the root note).
  • D# augmented is a D# chord, with the A# raised to Ax.
  • The D sharp augmented chord resolves naturally to the G# minor or G# Major chord.

10 Ways To Play The D Sharp Augmented Chord

If you’ve come to this page just to view some chord diagrams for D#+, here they are.


Further Reading

Get Guitar Chords Galore eBook