Augmented Arpeggios On The Guitar (CAGED Positions and Theory)

The augmented arpeggio is one of four triads (major, minor, augmented, diminished).

The augmented arpeggio contains the following:

1 – 3 – #5

It is the ‘sharp 5th’ that gives the augmented arpeggio its distinctively dissonant sound.

A unique characteristic about the augmented chord is that it is what is known as a symmetrical chord. This means that the intervals between each note are evenly spaced out. There is a major 3rd separating each note, including the #5 and the root. The result is that any two augmented chords that share one note, share all notes. This might sound a bit confusing, but let’s demonstrate with some examples.

The C augmented chord contains:

C – E – G#

The E augmented chord contains:

E – G# – C

The G# augmented chord contains:

G# – C – E

As you can see, these three ‘separate’ chords contain identical notes. Note that I am referring to chords, but of course an arpeggio is effectively a broken up chord, so the same theory applies to arpeggios.

5 CAGED Augmented Positions

Just like any arpeggio or scale, we want to master 5 movable CAGED shapes so that we can play in every key and every position. Let’s look at the 5 movable shapes for the augmented arpeggio, using C augmented as our example:

Augmented Arpeggio Position 1 Frets
Augmented Arpeggio Position 1 Notes
Augmented Arpeggio Position 2 Frets
Augmented Arpeggio Position 2 Notes
Augmented Arpeggio Position 7 Frets
Augmented Arpeggio Position 7 Notes
Augmented Arpeggio Position 8 Frets
Augmented Arpeggio Position 8 Notes
Augmented Arpeggio Position 11 Frets
Augmented Arpeggio Position 11 Notes

Links to individual keys will be posted here soon. For now, have a go at memorizing the shapes and changing keys.

Further Reading:

Get Guitar Chords Galore eBook